Sunday, 16 May 2021
Monday, 06. January 2020 08:40

Winner of SPEC Kaivalya Dixit Distinguished Dissertation Award 2019

Guanpeng Li from University of British Columbia: Understanding and modeling error propagation in programs

The SPEC Kaivalya Dixit Distinguished Dissertation Award is an annual award that aims to recognize outstanding doctoral dissertations within the scope of the SPEC Research Group in terms of scientific originality, scientific significance, practical relevance, impact, and presentation.

The winning dissertation was authored by Guanpeng Li of University of British Columbia, under the supervision of Prof. Karthik Pattabiraman. The selection committee was especially impressed with the intellectual merit, potential impact, quality, and clarity of Dr. Li’s dissertation.

The award is to be presented at the International Conference on Performance Engineering (ICPE) in Canada in April 2020.

Given the high quality of dissertations nominated for this award, the committee decided to publicly recognize another dissertation, titled "GPGPU reliability analysis: from applications to large scale systems,” authored by Dr. Bin Nie under the supervision of Prof. Evgenia Smirni at the College of William & Mary as the runner-up to the award. Her thesis is a perfect example of bridging the gap between theory and practice and generated a high number of high quality publications and patent submissions.

The committee also decided to give honorable mentions to other two works in no particular order: (1) "Hybrid, Job-Aware and Preemptive Data Center Schedulers" by Pamela Delgado from École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), under the supervision of Prof. Willy Zwaenepoel and (2) "A First-Principles Approach to Performance, Power, and Energy Models for Contemporary Multi- and Many-Core Processors” by Dr. Johannes Hofmann from Friedrich-Alexander Universitat Erlangen-Nurnberg, under the supervision of Prof. Gerhard Wellein. The committee found these two dissertations to be of very high quality and deserving of honorable mention.

The award selection committee for 2019 was chaired by Prof. Daniel A. Menascé of the George Mason University and consisted of the following members:

  • Chair: Daniel A. Menascé (George Mason University, USA)
  • Danilo Ardagna (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
  • Lucy Cherkasova (ARM Research, USA)
  • William Knottenbelt (Imperial College, UK)
  • Ningfang Mi (Northeastern University, USA)
  • Dorina Petriu (Carleton University, Canada)
  • Ramya Raghavendra (IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, USA)
  • Johan Tordsson (Umeå University and Elastisys, Sweden)

The SPEC Distinguished Dissertation Award was established in 2011 to recognize outstanding dissertations within the scope of the SPEC Research Group. Contributions of interest span the design of metrics for system evaluation as well as the development of methodologies, techniques and tools for measurement, load testing, profiling, workload characterization, dependability and efficiency evaluation of computing systems. Dissertations defended between October 2019 and September 2020 will be eligible to be nominated for the 2020 award.