## **ACPROSS 2017 Workshop Chairs Welcome**

It is our great pleasure to welcome you to the *International Workshop on Autonomous Control for Performance and Reliability Trade-offs in Internet of Services (ACPROSS 2017)*, held on April 22 2017 in L'Aquila, Italy, in conjunction with the 8th ACM/SPEC International Conference on Performance Engineering (ICPE 2017).

The paradigm shift from an information-oriented Internet into an Internet of Services (IoS) has opened up virtually unbounded possibilities for creating and deploying new services. In this reshaped ICT landscape, critical software systems, which include Internet of Things, cloud services, softwarized networks, etc., essentially consist of large-scale service chains, combining and integrating the functionalities of numbers of other services offered by third parties. In this context, one of the most challenging problems is the provision of service chains which offer an adequate level of performance, reliability and quality perceived by the end users, based on a large offering of multiple functionally equivalent services that not only differ in terms of performance and reliability characteristics, but might also exhibit a churn rate and time varying behavior. Motivated by this, the aim of ACPROSS 2017 is to share novel solutions regarding the development of autonomous control methods and algorithms for discussing a high quality, well-performing and reliable IoS. The workshop is organized and supported by the COST Action IC1304 "Autonomous Control for a Reliable Internet of Services" (ACROSS).

ACPROSS 2017 is a one-day workshop. The overall program gives researchers and practitioners a good opportunity to share their perspectives with others interested in the various aspects of autonomous control for performance and reliability trade-offs in the IoS.

All submitted papers received four single-blind reviews. The program committee accepted 4 full technical papers and 1 short technical paper. The workshop is also enriched by the keynote talk from Hans van den Berg and the invited talk from Mauro Caporuscio.

We first thank the authors who submitted their work and the invited speakers for providing the content of the program. We are grateful to the program committee and the additional reviewers, who worked hard in reviewing papers and providing timely and useful feedback for authors. In addition, we thank Matteo Nardelli for his work as publicity and Web site chair. Finally, we thank the hosting University of L'Aquila, the ICPE 2017 organizers, and the support provided by the COST Action IC1304 ACROSS.

We hope that you will find the ACPROSS 2017 program interesting and thought-provoking and that this workshop will provide you with a valuable opportunity to share ideas with other researchers and practitioners from institutions around the world. If you are not able to attend our workshop, we hope you will find the papers and talks stimulating.

Valeria Cardellini, Francesco Lo Presti,

ACPROSS'17 Co-Chairs University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy **Peter Pocta** 

ACPROSS'17 Co-Chair University of Zilina, Slovak Republic



## **ACPROSS 2017 Workshop Organization**

**Workshop Chairs:** Valeria Cardellini (University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy)

Francesco Lo Presti (University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy)

Peter Pocta (University of Zilina, Slovak Republic)

Publicity and Web Chair: Matteo Nardelli (University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy)

**Program Committee:** Hans van den Berg (University of Twente, Netherlands)

Emiliano Casalicchio (Blekinge Institute of Technology, Sweden)

Valerio Di Valerio (Sapienza University of Rome, Italy)
Tihana Galinac Grbac (University of Rijeka, Croatia)
Yoram Haddad (Jerusalem College of Technology, Israel)
Tobias Hossfeld (University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany)
Stefano Iannucci (Mississippi State University, USA)
Andreas Kassler (Karlstad University, Sweden)
Attila Kertesz (University of Szeged, Hungary)
Philipp Leitner (University of Zurich, Switzerland)

Barbara Pernici (Politecnico of Milan, Italy)

Raimund Schatz (Austrian Institute of Technology, Austria)

Martin Varela (EXFO, Finland)

Andrej Zgank (University of Maribor, Slovenia) Thomas Zinner (University of Würzburg, Germany)

**Reviewers:** Michael Borokhovich

Rasa Brūgienė Elishai Ezra Florian Metzger Robayet Nasim

Supporters:



